Tanzania Information

Tanzania Map Protected areas from: https://www.esri.com/en-us/home

Made by Kevin van der Gugten

Tanzania boasts extraordinary flora and fauna, including over 10,000 tree and plant species, 1,100 bird species, and 340 mammal species. It is a crucial nation for wildlife conservation, supporting continental Africa's highest diversity of ungulates and primates. Key conservation areas include National Parks, Game Reserves; wildlife migration corridors are threatened by agricultural expansion. Poaching has impacted wildlife populations, but Tanzania has established measures to improve conservation, including marine parks, National Parks, and Wildlife Management Areas. The Wildlife Conservation Society has been working to safeguard Tanzania's heritage for over 50 years. Travellers can support conservation efforts by being responsible tourists and supporting sustainable tourism practices.

Tanzania has a surface area of approximately 945,087 square kilometres (364,900 square miles), making it the 31st largest country in the world by land area. It is located in East Africa and shares borders with eight countries: Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique. On December 9, 1962, Tanganyika became a republic with Julius Nyerere as president. On April 26, 1964, the country was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania after Tanganyika. Joining with Zanzibar